Your party

Our Issues

Our Events

PES President’s blog

PES Congress in Budapest - a successful story thanks to you

Dear friends,

I am writing to you today to tell you about the PES congress in Budapest. Just over a week ago we welcomed around a thousand people to the Hungarian capital, celebrating all that is good about the socialist and social democratic movements. We stood shoulder to shoulder with our Hungarian colleagues in their fight against Orban’s ‘illiberal democracy’ and with each other as we advance socialism and social democracy in Europe.

I am proud of the rich debates we had as a party, together with our member parties, organisations and activists, during the past months, in order to adopt the PES Roadmap towards 2019 and the three resolutions: United for Jobs, United for Democracy and United for Peace

The Budapest congress was focused on the election of the PES president and policy discussions through interesting panel discussions and workshops. Looking to the future, I am looking forward to our forthcoming conferences, councils and congresses. Those will be organised with the objective to broaden the debate and engage with all participants and delegates.

Our goal now is to win the European elections and to become the largest group in the European Parliament in 2019. This would allow us to have our common candidate elected as European Commission President.

The Presidency meeting held during the PES congress unanimously elected the 4 Vice-Presidents, the Secretary General and Treasurer and appointed Deputy Secretary Generals on my proposal as the re-elected President of the PES. The new PES leadership list is below. I look forward to working with them for a strengthened and proactive PES.

Thanks to those of you who came to the congress, I hope to see others of you at many more in future.

With best regards,


Sergei Stanishev

PES President


New PES leadership:

PES Women President:

Zita Gurmai

Sergei Stanishev

Jean-Christophe Cambadélis, Leader, PS France
Carin Jämtin, Secretary General, SAP Sweden
Katarina Nevedalova, International Secretary, SMER-SD Slovakia
Jan Royall, Leader of the Opposition in the House of Lords, Labour UK

Ruairi Quinn, Labour Ireland

Secretary General:
Achim Post, SPD Germany

Deputy Secretary Generals:
Giacomo Filibeck, PD Italy
Marije Laffeber, PvdA Netherlands
Yonnec Polet, PS Belgium

Do you like this post?